THE BULLFIGHTER CHECKS HER MAKEUP by Susan Orlean

When you think about it, there are perhaps hundreds of novelists and short story writers whose work you might want to read, but shockingly few great essayists.  For me, that short list would include Russell Baker (my idol), David Sedaris, Atul Gawande, Mike Royko, Malcolm Gladwell, probably a few others I’m forgetting, and Susan Orlean.

Susan Orlean’s 2001 collection THE BULLFIGHTER CHECKS HER MAKEUP is by turns witty, odd, and surprising, which is apt considering the subtitle—“My Encounters with Extraordinary People”—and the fact that the first person she profiles is a ten-year-old boy and the second is a show dog.  And the eponymous bullfighter is a woman.  You get the picture.

Orlean also wrote the entertaining ORCHID THIEF (which was adapted, somewhat metacognitively, into the film Adaptation) among a few others.  Her latest book is about Rin Tin Tin, and as I used to say when people walked into my used bookstore and asked what I thought of a book I had no intention of reading, I haven’t read it yet.  I am hoping she will go back to essays.

Until then, I can always carve out some time to re-read, for example, “The American Man, Age Ten,” which begins: “If Colin Duffy and I were to get married, we would have matching superhero notebooks.”

PS–If anyone out there can suggest more essayists to consider, please chime in.

About OnlyGoodBooks

Creator of The Literacy Cookbook (www.literacycookbook.com), I am an educational consultant who also happens to love to read incessantly. I found myself referring friends to so many books that it seemed like time to create a blog to record all of these recommendations. So here it is.
This entry was posted in Biography, Dogs, Essays, Humor, Nonfiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THE BULLFIGHTER CHECKS HER MAKEUP by Susan Orlean

  1. margaret says:

    E.B. White! Trillin. Welty, Capote, pretty much all the great Southern writers … too many worth-reading essayists to name. I think most great novelists and short story writers were/are also wonderful essayists too. You may be pickier than I am, or are you looking for contemporary only?

    • Thanks, ML! I’ve read a few collections by Trillin and loved them; that was definitely an oversight. About the others, I agree they’re good writers, but can’t recall particular collections I’d recommend. Can you help with book titles for the others?

Leave a Reply

