DEAL BREAKER (Myron Bolitar Series #1) by Harlan Coben

For friends wondering why I haven’t been blogging much lately, I have this response:

DEAL BREAKER
DROPSHOT
FADE AWAY
BACK SPIN
ONE FALSE MOVE
THE FINAL DETAIL
DARKEST FEAR
PROMISE ME
LONG LOST
LIVE WIRE

For the past few weeks, I was completely addicted to Harlan Coben’s Myron Bolitar mysteries and read every single one.  And I just bought SHELTER, the first book in his young adult spinoff series featuring Myron’s nephew, Mickey, so I am not done yet.  But I thought I should take a break and explain myself.

Myron is a sports agent with some FBI experience who also grew up in Livingston, NJ, played basketball at Duke, and was picked by the Boston Celtics but never played for them because someone wrecked his knee in the preseason (PS, it wasn’t an accident: in the third book or so, we find out what happened and why).  He is witty and noble, and his clients and friends always seem to get into situations that require his investigative skills.  His college roommate, Win, plays a key role as a deceptively deadly vigilante-ish WASP (think Batman with more money), and his colleague/friend Esperanza and her friend, the aptly-named Big Cindy, also contribute to the action.

One of the coolest things about this series is that in addition to providing humor, action, and satisfying (though not always happy) endings, it also offers a fascinating longitudinal study of how both Myron and technology have evolved since 1995, when Coben published the first book.  It reminds me a bit of the Michael Apted’s Up Series documentaries.

These books are tough to put down.  Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

About OnlyGoodBooks

Creator of The Literacy Cookbook (www.literacycookbook.com), I am an educational consultant who also happens to love to read incessantly. I found myself referring friends to so many books that it seemed like time to create a blog to record all of these recommendations. So here it is.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Humor, Mystery, Novel, Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

