THE BIG MISS: My Years Coaching Tiger Woods by Hank Haney

Part of me is reluctant to write about this book because it’s the golf equivalent of a kiss-and-tell.  Of course, that’s also what makes it so compelling.  Like many other golfers, I’ve followed Tiger Woods for years.  Even before his scandalous unraveling, I wanted to know who the man was behind that stoic face.  Who WAS the guy who hit those incredible shots, who made impossibly long putts, who seemed to be in contention in EVERY tournament?  Occasionally he would pump his fist or crack a smile, seeming semi-human, but most of the time he just seemed like a golf machine. I watched with curiosity and high expectations, and I wondered, Who was he, really?

Hank Haney, who coached Tiger from 2004 to 2010, has a lot to say in response to that question.  And in many ways, he confirms what probably most of us assumed: that Tiger is extremely driven and self-absorbed.  After reading this book, my first thought was, I wouldn’t want to be Tiger Woods.  My second thought was, I wouldn’t want to be Hank Haney, either.  On the one hand, it’s a fascinating study of what it’s like to coach one of the most elite athletes in the world.  On the other hand, some of Haney’s observations border on creepiness.  Some of them, quite frankly, cross that line.  But if you love golf and always wanted to know what goes on behind the scenes, this book will satisfy your curiosity.

About OnlyGoodBooks

Creator of The Literacy Cookbook (www.literacycookbook.com), I am an educational consultant who also happens to love to read incessantly. I found myself referring friends to so many books that it seemed like time to create a blog to record all of these recommendations. So here it is.
This entry was posted in Biography, Golf, Memoir, Nonfiction, Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

