SWAMPED by Sandy Gingras

SWAMPEDI’ve been 29 for long enough to remember when movie tickets cost $1 and I was paid $3.25 an hour to chop onions. These days, movie tickets are $13, and I am paid considerably more not to chop anything. So it is weird to me that books, particularly books I love, books that I consider invaluable, can be downloaded from Amazon for a mere 99 cents.

I know how hard Sandy Gingras worked on SWAMPED, her first mystery novel (which won the 2012 Debut Dagger Award from the Crime Writers Association), because she’s a good friend and I read drafts along the way. I don’t read many mystery novels, but I like the funny ones (such as The Spellman Files series and Heads You Lose by Lisa Lutz), and this book is HILARIOUS (funnier than Janet Evanovich, in my opinion). The characters are edgy and lovable, the dialogue is quick-witted, and the main character, Lola Polenta is smart and a bit lost—in short, delightfully human and real. I can’t wait to see what happens next to everyone in this series.

This book is also surprisingly poignant. The last line knocks me over. But don’t peek. You can download it quickly, but you will want to savor the whole thing.

About OnlyGoodBooks

Creator of The Literacy Cookbook (www.literacycookbook.com), I am an educational consultant who also happens to love to read incessantly. I found myself referring friends to so many books that it seemed like time to create a blog to record all of these recommendations. So here it is.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Humor, Mystery, Novel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

