BETWEEN THE WORLD AND ME by Ta-Nehisi Coates

 

BETWEEN THE WORLD AND METoni Morrison has called this book “required reading,” and I agree. Carved as a letter to his teenaged son, BETWEEN THE WORLD AND ME explains why Ta-Nehisi Coates feels the way he feels and views the world the way he does. He is consumed by fear, rage, and above all, determination.

Given what he has experienced—from the violence in his West Baltimore neighborhood through the murder of an innocent college friend to the present-day litany of lost black lives—his perspective makes complete sense. I wish the world were different, and I am glad he has lifted his voice to it.

After it is announced that the killers of Michael Brown will not be indicted, Coates’s son says, “I’ve got to go,” and Coates finds him in his room, crying. He writes: “I did not tell you that it would be okay, because I have never believed it would be okay. What I told you is what your grandparents tried to tell me: that this is your country, that this is your world, that this is your body, and you must find some way to live within the all of it.”

This is the struggle, and the struggle continues.

About OnlyGoodBooks

Creator of The Literacy Cookbook (www.literacycookbook.com), I am an educational consultant who also happens to love to read incessantly. I found myself referring friends to so many books that it seemed like time to create a blog to record all of these recommendations. So here it is.
This entry was posted in Biography, Change, Crime, For EDUCATORS, For PARENTS, History, Memoir, Nonfiction, Race relations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BETWEEN THE WORLD AND ME by Ta-Nehisi Coates

  1. Reblogged this on MyThreeSixty5 and commented:
    A book I’ve been hearing a lot about and a pretty good Blog about good books

Leave a Reply

