ELIGIBLE by Curtis Sittenfeld

I held off on reading ELIGIBLE for a few years because I adore Jane Austen’s PRIDE AND PREJUDICE and I was afraid that this book, a modernization of that classic novel, could not possibly compare. So why bother?

I was wrong. In fact, I love Curtis Sittenfeld’s adaptation so much that it has made me want to re-read the original. And I hope someone is making a movie out of this.

I don’t want to spoil it, but here are a few tidbits: it’s 2013; the Bennets live in Cincinnati; Mr. Darcy is Dr. Darcy, a neurosurgeon; and Chip Bingley is a doctor/star of Eligible, a reality-TV show suspiciously similar to The Bachelor. And the banter among Liz and Jane and the rest of the siblings is priceless.

I think Ms. Austen would be delighted.

About OnlyGoodBooks

Creator of The Literacy Cookbook (www.literacycookbook.com), I am an educational consultant who also happens to love to read incessantly. I found myself referring friends to so many books that it seemed like time to create a blog to record all of these recommendations. So here it is.
This entry was posted in Classics, Fiction, For EDUCATORS, Humor, Novel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

